The Museum is now open. Your health and safety remains our top priority. Learn more.

Museum Director Marcelle Giving a Press Preview

Board of Trustees Welcomes 7 New Members as FOA Recognizes Outstanding Service

Posted on May 21st, 2008

Milwaukee, WI, May 21, 2008—
The Milwaukee Art Museum held its 2008 Members’ Annual Meeting on Monday, May 19, along with its largest support group, Friends of Art (FOA). Former president and CEO of the American Association of Museums Edward H. Able, Jr, delivered the meeting’s keynote address.

The Museum’s Members elected seven new Trustees to the Museum’s Board:
Carmen Haberman, W. David Knox II, R. Bruce McDonald, William L. Randall,
Christine Symchych, Jeffery W. Yabuki, and Andrew A. Ziegler.

FOA concluded its Fiftieth Anniversary celebration at the meeting, as well. To date, the organization has raised over $6 million dollars to fund hundreds of acquisitions and sponsor several key feature exhibitions for the museum.

In helping to achieve this and several other milestones, the following FOA members received special recognition at this year’s meeting:

2007-2008 Friend of the Year:
Beth Hoffman

2007-2008 Volunteer Service Awards:
Polly Daeger
Ilze Heider
Joe Massimino

2007-08 Partner in Art Award:
Next Level Technologies

Along with the over 1,000 volunteers whose efforts made possible FOA’s 2007 charitable events, Friends of Art also recognized the following event chairs:

Lakefront Festival of Arts 2007: Jen Dirks and Larry Oliverson

Grape Stomp 2007: Eric Eben and Scott Hanaway

Ornaments & Adornments 2007: Julia DeCicco and Katie Ojeda

Perfect Pairings 2008: Joan Lubar and Jon Hopkins

Bal du Lac 2008: Miriam & Chris Abele, and Kristin & Alec Fraser

Finally, FOA presented a check in the amount of $157,700.92 to the Museum’s Annual Campaign, as well as the final remaining balance on its commitment to restore Stanley Landsman’s Walk-In Infinity Chamber.