Milwaukee Art Museum Elects New Board President

Posted on May 17th, 2005

Milwaukee, WI, May 17, 2005— The Milwaukee Art Museum announced the election of a new President and new members of the Board of Trustees at its Board Meeting held on May 16, 2005. Past president Sheldon B. Lubar becomes Chairman; he will continue to preside at board meetings. The newly elected President is Andrew A. Ziegler, managing partner, Artisan Partners. As for other officers, the new Secretary is Betty Quadracci and W. Kent Velde remains Treasurer.

At the Annual Meeting on May 16 th , the newly elected members are Curt S. Culver, president and CEO, chairman of the board, MGIC Investment Corporation; Marvin L. Fishman, president, M. L. Fishman Building & Realty Co.; Gail A. Lione, vice president, general counsel and secretary, Harley-Davidson, Inc.; Jill G. Pelisek, University of Wisconsin Milwaukee; Andrew E. Randall; and Lynde B. Uihlein, president, Brico Fund LLC .

The new board President, Andrew A. Ziegler, is founder and managing partner of Artisan Partners Limited Partnership, an institutional investment management firm with approximately $40 billion in assets under management. Prior to founding Artisan Partners in 1994, Mr. Ziegler was president and chief operating officer of Strong Capital Management, and president of the Strong Funds. Before joining Strong Capital Management in 1990, Mr. Ziegler practiced corporate law with the Milwaukee firm of Godfrey & Kahn S.C.

The following members of the Board were re-elected for an additional term of three years: Christopher S. Abele, Judy Gordon, P. Michael Mahoney, José A. Olivieri, Stacy G. Terris and W. Kent Velde. The president thanked those members of the board who had come to the end of their terms: Richard J. Glaisner, Marianne Lubar and Dorothy Nelle Sanders.

Following the Museum’s annual meeting, Friends of Art, the Milwaukee Art Museum’s major support group, held its annual meeting and elected the following FOA officers: Lori Bechthold , Mequon, president; Edward J. Hanrahan , Milwaukee, president-elect; David M. Bauer, Waukesha, treasurer; and Lawrence J. Schnuck , Whitefish Bay, secretary. Elected FOA vice presidents are Valerie B. Clarke, Whitefish Bay , business development; Julia DeCicco, Milwaukee , communications; Kristin W. Severson , River Hills, events; Timothy E. Ryan , Shorewood, long-range planning; Susan G. Forrer , Whitefish Bay, membership; and Lawrence W. Oliverson, Sullivan, member at large.

Elected new members of the FOA Board of Directors are Joan Lubar, Kim M. Muench and Nancy Munroe.

# # #