New President and Trustees Strengthen Governance of Milwaukee Art Museum

Posted on May 18th, 2004

Milwaukee, WI, May 18, 2004— The Milwaukee Art Museum announced the election of a new president and seven new members of the Board of Trustees at its Annual Meeting held on May 17, 2004. The newly elected president is Sheldon Lubar, MAM’s chairman of the Financial Development Committee. Newly elected members are Michael J. Cudahy, president, The Endeavors Group, LLC; Jeffrey Joerres, chairman, CEO and president, Manpower Inc.; Anthony Petullo, president, Anthony Petullo Foundation ; Betty Ewens Quadracci , publisher, Milwaukee Magazine and president, QuadCreative Group; Marcia Rimai, senior vice president – marketing, Northwestern Mutual; Dorothy Stadler, chair of MAM’s CAS Art Auction and vice chair of MAM’s Exhibitions Committee; and Andrew A. Ziegler, founder and CEO, Artisan Partners .

The new board president, Sheldon Lubar, is chairman of Lubar & Co., a private investment company, and chairman of C2, Inc. a public company engaged in manufacturing, warehousing and logistics. Lubar also served as MAM board president from 1977-1980.

“The fundamentals of the Museum’s economic situation are sound. Our financial campaign is making good progress, and we look forward to retiring the debt,” said MAM board president Sheldon Lubar. “I also welcome the opportunity to help guide the Museum as it continues to be artistically ambitious and welcoming to the community.”

The following members of the Board were re-elected for an additional term of three years: Terry A. Hueneke, James H. Schloemer, Justin N. Segel and Suzanne L. Selig. The president thanked those members of the board who had come to the end of their terms: Terry W. Anderson, Andrea B. Bryant, Michael A. Hatfield and Allen L. Samson.

Following the Museum’s annual meeting, Friends of Art, the Milwaukee Art Museum’s major support group, held its annual meeting and elected the following FOA officers: Lori Bechthold, Mequon, president; Pamela W. Shovers, Fox Point, past president; David M. Bauer, Waukesha, treasurer; and Edward J. Hanrahan, Milwaukee, secretary. Elected FOA vice presidents are Mark S. Bishop, Brookfield and Valerie B. Clarke, Whitefish Bay, business development; Karen C. McDowell, Mequon, communications; Linda L. Lundeen, Mequon, events; Lawrence J. Schnuck, Whitefish Bay, long-range planning; and Molly W. Allen, Bayside, membership.

Elected new members of the FOA Board of Directors are Elizabeth Bruce, Fox Point and Timothy Ryan, Shorewood.

# # #